Last update:
Read our latest news
Online member application form
Various HELMEPA material
Information & Material
6 June 2012
6 June 2007, Anniversary event
February 20, 2009
THE ASSOCIATION > Structure > Board of Directors

The Board of Directors


The Board consists of 15 members elected by the General Assembly for a two-year term. They, in turn, elect their Chairman and Officers in accordance with the Articles of Association.

The BoD, which was elected and constituted into a Body on 22 April 2016, is as follows:

Chairman:Dr George A. Gratsos
Vice Chairman:John A. Xylas
General Secretary:Dimitrios C. Lemonidis
Special Secretary:Irene S. Daifas
Treasurer:Nicolas Th. Bafaloukos
Deputy Treasurer:Michalis G. Dalacouras
Members: Captain John N. Chalas
Michael D. Chandris
Dr John D. Coustas
John P. Ioannidis
Aikaterini M. Los
Diamantis N. Manos
Dimitrios N. Mattheou
Aristidis I. Pittas
Panagiotis S. Zachariadis
Alternate Member:Gabriel V. Andreou
 Evangelos S. Avlonitis

Advisors to the Board:

Legal:Panagiotis Vrettakos
Scientific:Dr Michael Skoullos

Rapporteur to the Board:

Director General:Dimitris C. Mitsatsos





Historical Account of the Board

Till the election of the first Board of Directors, in September 1983, HELMEPA functioned in compliance with the Statutes,
under an Executive Committee chaired by the late George P. Livanos with the following Members: John Goumas,
Gregory Hadjielefteriadis, Matheos Los, Panagiotis N. Tsakos and Michael Zenzefilis, Secretary General of the Panhellenic
Seamen's Federation.




Election of the 1st Board chaired by George P. Livanos who, being re-elected, continued offering his services to the Association until 1991 when he resigned. During the term of the 1st Board, HELMEPA introduced for the first time in Greece voluntary environmental campaigns in the spirit of the "Greek philotimo" (personal pride), the first "weapon" which George Livanos never ceased projecting. He passed away on 1st June 1997.





Basil Ph. Papachristidis of Hellespont Shipping is elected as the 2nd Chairman of HELMEPA and with his colleagues in the Board give the Association the technocratic dimension dictated by the international maritime developments. The outcome of their efforts was the production of the "Ship's Manual" of HELMEPA, a valuable aid for the implementation of the International Safety Management (ISM) Code onboard vessels. 


John Halas, Secretary General of the Panhellenic Seamen's Federation, is elected as 3rd Chairman and introduces to the activities of HELMEPA the traditional seamanship, anxieties and dynamism of thousands seafarers he represented.  This constitutes the motivation of the largest part of the human factor in the Greek shipping industry.


Captain Vassilis C. Constantakopoulos of Costamare Shipping is elected as 4th Chairman and besides his support to HELMEPA Junior (, he personifies with his presence at the head of the Board the voluntary commitment "from shipowner to seafarer". It is on this commitment that all activities of HELMEPA towards pollution prevention and enhancement of maritime safety rely. 


Peter G. Livanos of Ceres Hellenic Shipping Enterprises is elected as 5th Chairman and Captain Vassilis C. Constantakopoulos is awarded the title of Honorary Chairman. The new Chairman promotes the spreading of HELMEPA's philosophy through the founding of AUSMEPA in Australia.  During the same period, the ISM Code and the new requirements of the revised Standards of Training, Certification and Watchkeeping (STCW) siome into effect.



Nikolas P. Tsakos of Τsakos Energy Navigation is elected as 6th Chairman and supports together with all members of the Boards the founding of the International Marine Environment Protection Association (INTERMEPA).
The 20th Anniversary of HELMEPA is celebrated in June 2002 at the Athens Concert Hall and in the framework of the "Posidonia" Exhibition.



Nicolas Pappadakis of A.G. Pappadakis and Co. Ltd. is elected as 7th Chairman during a period in which the international maritime community at IMO encourages the environmental awareness through the MEPA philosophy. On 6 June 2006 the statutes of INTERMEPA are signed by its founding members AUSMEPA, CYMEPA, HELMEPA and TURMEPA. The new Association has its headquarters in Greece and is served by Secretariat of HELMEPA. For more information visit


Captain Vassilis C. Constantakopoulos is elected as the 8th Chairman of the Board and as he has been a warm supporter of the program "HELMEPA Junior" right since its inception in 1993, does a lot so that the initiatives of the program embrace schoolchildren living in regions far away from Athens and the major cities.


Captain Vassilis C. Constantakopoulos is again elected Chairman of the Board but unfortunately he passes away on 25 January 2011. On 4 February 2011, the Board unanimously elects the Vice-Chairman, Dr John Coustas, as its 9th Chairman.


Dr John Coustas is elected Chairman of the Board who now turn their attention to the importance of the Social Media for HELMEPA's messages to reach out into the youth society all over Greece. A Training Committee set up by the Board and consisted of representatives of 11 managing companies helps the Maritime Section of the Association enrich the refresher training program it offers to the officers and staff of member companies. A package of e-Learning themes is being prepared by the Secretariat under the guidance of the Board.




Dr John Coustas is reelected as the Chairman of the Board which continues to upgrade the refresher training and to expand the HELMEPA Junior program so that more schoolchildren can participate.



COPYRIGHT © HELMEPA  |  All rights Reserved